Cheparinov perde por não cumprimentar Short!!!

É isso mesmo, amigos[as]: Ivan Cheparinov foi declarado perdedor da partida que mal começara [estavam em 1.e4 c5], por ter se recusado a cumprimentar [apertar a mão, exatamente] seu oponente, Nigel Short!!! E por duas vezes!!!

Cheparinov é um grande jogador e está se aproximando rapidamente dos top 15 do xadrez mundial, já sendo o 2º de Topalov, há alguns anos.

Short é um jogador respeitado, já tendo disputado, inclusive, o título mundial, contra Kasparov.

A atitude de Cheparinov é injustificável e ele foi punido com justiça, no meu entendimento. Abaixo, segue, também, a regra na qual o árbitro baseou a sua decisão.

E vejam, também adiante, a cobertura completa do triste/marcante evento, no site chessbase.com:

Wijk R08: Breaking news: Cheparinov forfeits on handshake
20.01.2008 – This is a first in modern chess: Nigel Short started his game against Ivan Cheparinov with 1.e4. The Bulgarian arrived late and replied 1…c5. Then Short offered the traditional handshake, which was twice refused by Cheparinov. Short protested, the arbiters consulted the FIDE web site and found a presidential board decision on the matter. Cheparinov was defaulted, Short received the point.

As regular readers of my reports will know, I usually try to start with a light-hearted digression. Today, however, I have to report something far more serious, indeed, one of the most extraordinary episodes I have ever heard of, let alone witnessed, at an international chess tournament. It occurred in the B Group, where Britain’s Nigel Short is playing. Today he faced Ivan Cheparinov, with the white pieces. Short came to the board, and with his opponent absent, he played the move 1.e4, and walked away. A few minutes later, Cheparinov came to the board, sat down, and played 1…c5. As Short came over, and held out his hand for the traditional pre-game handshake, Cheparinov pointedly kept his head down over the board and his scoresheet. After a few moments, Short sat down, and waited for Cheparinov to raise his head. When he did so, Short again extended his hand, only for Cheparinov to shrug in refusal.

Short then stood up and approached the arbiter, pointing out that his opponent’s actions are a breach of FIDE rules, which prescribe an immediate forfeit as the penalty for refusing the handshake. The arbiter was not even aware of this rule, which was announced only recently. He was asked to check, and after going away to do so, he duly found it on the FIDE website. After consulting with Cheparinov, and explaining the situation, the arbiter told Short that Cheparinov was now prepared to shake hands after all. However, given that he had already twice refused to do so, and that Short’s equanimity had by now been totally destroyed, the latter insisted that the offence had already occurred, and that Cheparinov should be forfeited. “It was clearly a calculated insult”, said Short. The arbiter was forced to agree, and the official tournament record now shows the game Short-Cheparinov as having gone 1.e4 c5 1-0.


Nigel Short explaining what had just transpired to journalists in the press centre…


…and especially to our correspondent Steve Giddins (seated)

An incredible situation. Short says that he personally has no issue with Cheparinov at all, but he presumes that the incident arose out of past comments that Short has made to the press, concerning the events of the “Toiletgate” match in Elista, and subsequent cheating allegations made against Topalov. Cheparinov is Topalov’s regular second, and both are managed by Silvio Danailov. Tomorrow is the second rest day here at Corus, which gives an extra 24 hours for the repercussions to rumble on. Of course, it is open to Cheparinov to lodge an appeal. With delicious humour, however, Short pointed out that one member of the tournament Appeals Committee, is… Vladimir Kramnik!

As they say in the press, watch this space!

FIDE ruling

Behavioural norms of players in chess events

Having discussed several recent cases in different chess tournaments where the attitude of players toward their opponent or officials, journalists etc. was not acceptable under conventional social behaviour, the FIDE Presidential Board – at the suggestion of President Ilyumzhinov – decided on setting up strict rules regarding such behaviour.

Any player who does not shake hands with the opponent (or greets the opponent in a normal social manner in accordance with the conventional rules of their society) before the game starts in a FIDE tournament or during a FIDE match (and does not do it after being asked to do so by the arbiter) or deliberately insults his/her opponent or the officials of the event, will immediately and finally lose the relevant game.

Regarding a more comprehensive set of behavioural and ethical norms to be followed, FIDE Ethics Commission and the Arbiter’s Council are to elaborate guidelines for the players. The guidelines will be published on the FIDE website.

Published in: on janeiro 20, 2008 at 3:20 pm  Deixe um comentário  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://xadrezcriativoemagistral.wordpress.com/2008/01/20/cheparinov-perde-por-nao-cumprimentar-short/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Deixe uma resposta

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do WordPress.com

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta WordPress.com. Sair / Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair / Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair / Alterar )

Foto do Google+

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Google+. Sair / Alterar )

Conectando a %s

%d blogueiros gostam disto: