Anand: Kasparov é o maior de todos os tempos.

Amigos[as], abaixo segue uma entrevista rápida, mas importante, com o atual campeão mundial de xadrez, o indiano Vishwanathan Anand. Entre outras coisas, o campeão afirma que Kasparov é o maior de todas as eras, um pouco à frente de “Bob” Fischer.

Aproveitem o jantar.


Interview with Vishy Anand

Q: On February 14th you begin the defense of your Linares-Morelia title. Who is the favorite for you?

A: There are eight players of the highest level but if I have to pick someone I’d say Levon Aronian, who just won in Wijk aan Zee. I prefer to take it round by round. There’s no dominant player, like when (Garry) Kasparov was around. Now you have to fight tournament by tournament.

Q: But the Elo list marks you as the favorite.

A: When you sit down to play the differences between one player and another don’t appear on the Elo list. Just look at Aronian and Carlsen, who aren’t in the top eight on the rating list but nevertheless just won Wijk aan Zee.

Q: What do you think of the youngster Carlsen? At 17 does he already have the qualities to be world champion?

A: Magnus has developed very quickly. He will be a great champion, without a doubt. He plays with great maturity, not like a lad of 17. He has a huge talent, but I’d still say Aronian is the favorite, although just by a bit.

Q: It seems like Mexico gives you good vibes.

A: Yes indeed. I’ve won all three tournaments I’ve played in this country and I feel very comfortable here. I like everything: the people, the climate, the food, and, above all, the chess fans, who treat me very well.

Q: How do you prepare for tournaments?

A: Along with theoretical study, which I usually do in the afternoons, I spend two hours in the gym in the morning. One day I do resistance exercises and the next day strength exercises. Sometimes I ride a bicycle. As a fan I like soccer – I’m a Real Madrid supporter – car racing, and tennis.

Q: Do you consider yourself a “child” of the historic Fischer-Spassky encounter in Reykjavik in 1972?

A: I was three years old then and I wasn’t precocious enough to follow it, but later, once my mother (Susila Viswanathan) taught me to play when I was six, I studied those games and Fischer the man as well. I consider him a genius who confronted a gigantic country like the Soviet Union on his own.

Q: Do you consider him the greatest ever?

A: He was a genius, and his game, along with having great beauty, was very simple to understand; he did everything easily. He and Kasparov were the greatest in history, but I judge Kasparov as a little ahead. Fischer was a phenomenon from 1970 to 1972 while Kasparov was on top for many years.

Q: You became famous for the speed of your play. Have you lost speed over the years?

A: I’m still winning rapid tournaments and I have better results than Kasparov himself in rapid games. I think I’ve kept my speed. Even when I spend more time thinking I don’t find better moves.

Q: In October you’ll have to defend the world championship crown against Kramnik in Bonn, in twelve games. Kramnik gives the impression that he’s not at his best these days.

A: But in October he’ll be a powerful rival because he’s very strong in matches. He knows how to prepare very well to come up with ideas at home. I’ll also be studying in order to surprise him with a few novelties.

Q: Is it necessary to be a little crazy to become a great chess champion?

A: No. That’s a myth. What happens is that the media focuses a lot on the exceptions, but the great majority of players are normal people.

Q: Fischer, Korchnoi, and others used to always bring up scandals about trifles like the chair, the lights, and the nearness of the audience. Do you have any such manias when you sit down at the board?

A: I don’t think so. If anything, I might use the same pen that I used when I won a great victory, or wear a special shirt that Aruna puts out for me, but I couldn’t care less about the chairs, the table, the board, and the pieces. I have a great ability to concentrate and nothing disturbs me.

Published in: on fevereiro 16, 2008 at 12:04 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://xadrezcriativoemagistral.wordpress.com/2008/02/16/anand-kasparov-e-o-maior-de-todos-os-tempos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentDeixe um comentário

  1. I think this is one of the most vital info for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is
    really nice : D. Good job, cheers


Deixe uma resposta

